Port Lincoln Primary School Logo

Port Lincoln Primary School

We achieve with pride

Student Learning


Port Lincoln Primary School’s Curriculum is based on the Australian Curriculum. The Australian Curriculum specifies the understandings and skills required for students from FOUNDATION TO YEAR 10 and is organized in 8 learning areas:


  • Reading & Viewing
  • Writing
  • Listening & Speaking


  • Numbers & Algebra
  • Measurement & Geometry
  • Statistics & Probability

Humanities & Social Science

  • History
  • Geography, Civics & Citizenship, Economics & Business


  • Indonesian

The Arts

  • Drama
  • Dance
  • Media Arts
  • Music
  • Visual Arts


  • Design & Technologies
  • Digital Technologies

Health & Physical Education

  • Personal, Social, Community Health Movement & Physical Activity

In each learning area, content descriptions specify what all young people should be taught, and the achievement standards set out the depth of understanding and sophistication of skill expected of students at points in their schooling.

For more information, refer to this website.

General Capabilities & Cross-Curriculum Priorities

Seven general capabilities and three cross curriculum priorities are integrated and developed throughout each learning area.

General Capabilities

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information & Communication Technology
  • Critical & Creative Thinking
  • Personal & Social Capability
  • Ethical Understanding
  • Intercultural Understanding

Cross Curriculum Priorities

  • Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Histories & Cultures
  • Asia & Australia's Engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability

Viewing the Curriculum Online

The Australian Curriculum is published online to provide maximum flexibility in how the curriculum can be accessed and organised. For more information, refer to the website: http://www.australiancurriculum.edu.au/
Teaching for Effective Learning:
The Australian Curriculum identifies WHAT  needs to be taught in Australian Schools. In South Australia, Teaching for Effective Learning Framework (TfEL) specifies HOW the Australian Curriculum should be taught. It is organized into 4 domains:

Learning For Effective Teaching

  • Understand how self and others learn
  • Develop deep pedagogical and content knowledge
  • Participate in professional learning communities and networks
  • Engage with the community
  • Discuss educational purpose and policy
  • Design, plan and organise for teaching and learning

Develop Expert Learners

  • Teach students how to learn
  • Foster deep understanding and skillful action
  • Explore the construction of knowledge
  • Promote dialogue as a means of learning

Create Safe Conditions for Rigorous Learning

  • Develop democratic relationships
  • Build a community of learners
  • Negotiate learning
  • Support and challenge students to achieve high standards

Personalise & Connect Learning

  • Build on learners understandings
  • Connect learning to students' lives and aspirations
  • Apply and assess learning in authentic contexts
  • Communicate learning in multiple modes